No Justice for Christine or Canada

FIFA brought down their ruling on remarks made by Christine Sinclair at the end of the Olympic semi final game against the US. She has been given a four match ban. Anyone who understands the rules of football (soccer) and saw this game will know it is the Referee who should have been charged. Wambaugh the US team captain stood beside the ref counting the seconds while the Canadian goalkeeper held the ball. Eight seconds is considered the max time for a goalkeeper to clear the ball. She did take ten-eleven seconds and that is time wasting. The usual punishment for this offense is a yellow card, not a free kick inside the goal area. However standing beside the ref counting is in my opinion an attempt to influence the ref, and should have resulted in a red card. The whole event was a travesty and referee Pedersen should be the one charged not Sinclair.
What do you think? do you agree or disagree????
Cheers and keep reading.

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in soccer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.