A Loving Daughter.


003Who would have thought this wee girl of four would grow up to be such an intelligence and loving daughter. The beautiful response she wrote in reference to my letter about the Jehovah Witness who refused her son the opportunity to hear the meaning of remembrance. I was so moved by her letter, it gave me even more strength in objecting to the disgraceful actions of this person. I must confess I’m in tears while writing this reply,  if I have made any goofs I know you will understand. Thank you Susannah I’m proud of you too. I’m adding her letter below.

My father again shares his wisdom. I was raised in a christian home where no one was excluded or treated differently for religious beliefs…political beliefs maybe…just kidding. I was however raised to remember our history and see what was sacrificed for our freedom. I was raised to wear my poppy with pride and attend a remembrance day ceremony every year, to stop and think on the Battle of the Atlantic Sunday, and to always show respect at a cenotaph. One of the highlights of a long run in Ottawa was standing in the dark at the tomb of the unknown soldier and appreciating that I was running at 6am in our nations capitol because of that soldier. All who fought for freedom should be remembered, both allies and enemies. Our religious beliefs, while important and our own to choose, we cannot take away the fact that boys of 18, 19 or 20 years old sat in trenches praying for something to make it stop, but not quitting because someday somewhere a little boy might want to sit in a library and hear a story.

God Bless and keep reading
I post comments on my blog on Saturday about this subject after reading the front page article. A Jehovah Witness objected to the public library regarding the story time reading about Remembrance t…
irishroversbooks.wordpress.com
About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in family, veterans and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

