Get Your Finger Out to Call me????


telephone100_0573My grand daughter Melissa laughs at my flip phone and tells me it is an antique! I think of it as quite up to date compared to what we once used to communicate with when I was her age.

In this age of cell phones, I phones, Skype calls and whatever other communication devices are out there, I’m often scoffed at because I’m unsure how to use these items.
I was raised in a different era when working class people didn’t have telephones in their homes. We didn’t have a phone in our pocket, purse or attached to a belt. We didn’t need a phone because no one else that we knew had one either. Sometimes I’m teased for my ineptness when attempting to use an I phone. While they think I’m kinda dumb I wonder if they could  explain and operate the telephone in my blog photo. How about the phone box? Would they know to have the correct change?. Would they know what to do when the operator came on the line and told them how much to deposit?. Would they know where to deposit the money?. What if the line didn’t answer? would they know which button to push to get their money back. If the line did answer would they know which button to push to speak? Could they make a phone call the way I did those many years ago? I suspect Melissa and youths from her age group might struggle to make a call on such a complicated piece of equipment. So don’t scoff at us old folks, we were as smart in our day as you think you are today with your fancy Blackberry and I pads. But what about texting??? you ask, can you do that???. Actually the answer is yes, we would text often, but in those days it was called writing! using a fountain pen! Oh!! I almost forgot to mention, in order the call me you will have to get your finger out.

God Bless and keep reading, or call me if you know how???

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

