Moncton in the Rain


world cupworld cup1world cup2world cup3We met a few strange birds in Moncton at the World Cup knock out round this past Sunday. We left home around 9.30 am and arrived in Moncton at 11 am, had a coffee and a sandwich before meeting up with Caroline at the hotel. She had the tickets for the game and told me kick off was 1 pm. We reached the gates right on the dot at noon, and found our way to our seats. Not the most comfortable of seats! steel benches with no back rest. But what the heck! I was at a World Cup game. At about 12.30pm I was beginning to wonder why the teams had not yet appeared to do their warm up routines before the kick off. Almost 1 pm, still no sign of a game starting, in fact no sign of anything and most seats were still empty. A quick check of the tickets revealed kick off was at 2 pm. Egads!!! two hours on this cold hard steel bench seat. Nevertheless, I survived until the teams finally appeared and we got on with why I was there!. First half was mostly played in and around the Australian goal area and I feared the Ozzies might lose. Second half began as the heavy rain started, but hey!! am I soccer pro and had my trusty waterproof poncho with me. The game dragged on with no score but the Ozzies were on top now, and more rain coming down, I was beginning to worry we’d be here for another hour,  it looked like overtime was on the horizon. At the 80th minute mark Australia scored and the stadium erupted in a roar that must have been heard in downtown Moncton. So the Ozzies move on  Brazil go home,and me a little damp around the edges went to Montana’s for supper. We arrived home at 7.30 pm,I had a soak in a hot bath then eased into my ever so comfortable recliner to watch Canada play the Swiss. Once again the game was won on a single goal scored by the Canadians at minute 57. We are through with Australia to the quarter finals starting next week. Canada will play the winner of the Norway-England game. It was one of the nicest Father day’s I have ever experienced and not even heavy rain could spoil it. I have two very wonderful daughters and an amazing wife who drove me to and from the game and all the stops in between. I’m a very blessed man surrounded by those who love me.

God Bless and keep reading

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in family, soccer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moncton in the Rain

  1. baconburner says:

    You deserve all that Family Love Amigo

Leave a Reply

