Its this old guys turn!!!


cockade12book cover_0001budge 001birthday20141959_singer_gazelle1IMAGE_editedfore endsnana'sfam&partnerspicFamily Photosp52911361Well I did it to Caroline on her birthday yesterday, so its only fair I do it to myself today. Its this old fella’s 77 birthday. Sorry I have few photos beyond the 1960’s004, cameras were somewhat rare in the 1930′ thru 50’s. I should also apologize for having no photo of me in the bath tub! maybe an apology is not the right word, more likely I would have needed to apologize if I had had a photo of me in the tub. Bathing like cameras was a wee bit rare in the 1930’s thru 50’s. Too old now for wild birthday party’s so I’m hoping for just a muffin with one candle this year as my birthday cake, last years cake was a dangerous fire hazard.  Thank all you kind folks for your wonderful wishes, much more appreciated than you can know. As a note of interest the oldest photo I have is on the cover of “Lily & Me” taken on the Clifton Suspension Bridge near Bristol in 1949. It features my brother Tommy on my right,  me in middle (aged 10) and my father on my left.

God Bless and keep reading.

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in family, HM Submarines, HMS Cockade, hms ganges, vehicles, veterans and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Its this old guys turn!!!

  1. BuntyMcC says:

    Happy birthday Ben. Enjoy your muffin!

    I’ve seen you in Charlottetown a couple of times in the past year. The latest was at the Confed. Centre (Aladdin?) But you probably don’t recognize me with gray hair and a lot more weight than in that photo of the soccer team you posted yesterday. Next time I’ll speak!

  2. irishroverpei says:

    There must be another good looking guy around Charlottetown because I didn’t go to Aladdin. Linda did so perhaps you thought I was there too. Not to worry about gray hair or a little extra weight, it comes to all of us in time.

Leave a Reply

