Legion Refuse to Budge


001 002I was quite surprised to see in today’s paper my article(Guest Opinion) on the wearing of medals. My continuing struggle to have an unnecessary law changed. Section 419 of the criminal code states if a widow-mother or family member wears their late loved ones medal (on their right breast) to a Remembrance Day Service that person is subject to arrest and prosecution.  It was encouraging to have this media coverage, however, they left out one all important detail! Wearing the medal on the Right Breast. Awarded medals are worn on the left breast, over the heart. To wear them on the right signifies the wearer is not the recipient but is wearing them in memory of a loved one. While I was delighted to see my article in print, I expect to receive several responses pointing out my error!!! Not my error at all, but there you have it and indeed publicity is never bad publicity. I have contacted the newspaper to ask for a correction.

If you care to check, look at my original post March 4th “RCL My Continuing Struggle” I  clearly state in brackets (on the right breast)

In today’s Guardian(9th March 2016) there is a correction in letters to the editor

God Bless and keep reading

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in military, veterans and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

