Legion Awards not Military Decorations!


150 medalbeaumont-hamel

PEI Command Letter to Guardian 25th July 2016

Finally the President of Provincial Command has responded to my many letters regarding the wearing of medals. In his haste to show how wrong I’m he fails to spell my name correctly, not once, but four times. He claims I have taken the selling of legion medals out of context? not sure how he arrived at that conclusion. Anyone who wishes to check the facts, can find the ads in back issues of the Legion Magazine. The Legion 90th anniversary medal was advertised at $25 plus P & P to all legion members More recently the 150 medal was also advertised at $25. I find it equally difficult to justify his comparison. If its okay for Boy Scouts-Cadets and Knights of Columbus to wear medals why not the legion. Perhaps he needs a reminder, the legion is a veterans organization and the majority of veterans have and wear actual medals earned in the service of their country. Veterans do not need to buy legion medals. Finally and apart from the spelling of my name, Mr John Yeo avoids completely the crucial issue I have been urging. That of family members wearing their late loved ones medals on the right breast to Remembrance Day Services. I found it very typical when Provincial Command President Yeo  quoted policy. I would be remiss if I did not mention that old legion chestnut!! “The legion does not say family members cannot not wear medals, we are just informing them of the law”.LOL the legion strongly support this law. I rest my case.

God Bless and keep reading

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in HM Submarines, HMS Cockade, hms ganges, veterans and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

