Overheard at a Walmart Checkout


‘Lisa, hello! How’re you?’walmart‘Good. Yourself?’‘Where’s your friend Madison today? She alright?

’‘Yeah. Well, no, not really actually.’

‘Oh? What you done?’

‘Well, we had a bit of a falling out yesterday. You know, a bit of a misunderstanding.’

‘That’s not like you two. Thick as thieves usually. So what happened?’

‘Well, I was in the kitchen having a coffee when my youngest came running in all flushed in the face and with eyes like saucers. “Mom,” she stuttered as she tried to find the words, “what do you call it when someone sleeps on top of another person?”

I tell you, I nearly dropped the coffee all over my lap. My good God, had she reached that age already? My little baby – where did the years go? Was she really ready for this? Of course I knew the day would come, and I dreaded it. Where was her father when I needed him? He told the boys all about it – you know – life. But this was my little girl, so it was my responsibility. Anyway, I sat her down and got her a drink, and I did my best to break it to her as kindly and sensitively as I possibly could, explaining how the mum lay down on the bed and the dad lay on top of her, what he did and what she did, stressing all the time that it was a natural thing to do because they were so much in love. It was called having sex. And to my surprise she wasn’t the least bit disturbed by it all, and when I finished she gave a huge smile and bounced back out of the door.

Then shortly afterwards, as I was on my third cup of strong coffee, she flew back in the doors beaming all over her face. “Mom,” she chirped, “it isn’t called sex. It’s called bunk beds and Sally’s mum wants to see you …”

Out of the mouths of babes??? oops Will that be charge or cash? bye!!

God Bless and keep reading

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in family, Just Fooling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

