Rituals & Insignia Royal Canadian Legion


legionSo far I have failed to find conclusive proof that the wearing of Wings Dolphins etc is not permitted on Legion Uniform. I received a few comments and questions on the subject, but still find myself without an accurate answer. I looked up the manual online `Rituals & Insignia`but found nothing that directly related to rule regarding these particular badges.

http://www.legion.ca/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/RitualandInsignia2011_e.pdf

So folks the search goes on, maybe someone with more knowledge than I will provide the answer. I must confess, it is not something that overly concerns me. I no longer think of myself a member of the legion. I will wear my blazer with submariners badge and my beret with the Naval crown, plus submarine tie. Guess that is my own uniform of choice, I doubt anyone will notice or accost me for being out of legion dress!!!! I find it so disappointing reading the number of unhappy-mistreated veterans who have commented on my blog. All have very similar complaints regarding the Poppy Fund, arrogant behavior of associate members overruling veterans, Dominion`s lack of concern or effort to correct the ongoing strife. Some ask me for advice, but what can I tell them, I have tried to reach those in Command but my pleas fall on deaf ears. My own solution is to leave at the end of this current year when my membership lapses.  I fear many others will do the same, and legion membership will continue to plummet. It is a very difficult decision, I have been a member for 30 years and have many good friends and comrades. In many ways it is hard to make the break, but each time I waiver I remember all the bad things that has brought me to this point.

God Bless and keep reading

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in HM Submarines, HMS Cockade, hms ganges, military, veterans and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rituals & Insignia Royal Canadian Legion

  1. Ira Peters says:

    I don’t think you are stating anything that a lot Veterans feel,it is very sad that we have let the Associates outrank the number of Veterans in the first place 😦

  2. Ira Peters says:

    I meant to say in my first comment, that your feelings are mutual to most Veterans. It is a shame that we are falling to this point in the first place. I can only see and end to the Legion if things are not soon done at the Command level. 😦

  3. irishroverpei says:

    Difficult as it is say, I think we have left it too late. We are heavily out numbered by associates and I do not see them changing policy for us

  4. Dave Marson says:

    I wonder how the legion views this as dress code……

    On Sat, Sep 17, 2016 at 3:41 AM, The Irish Rover’s Blog wrote:

    > irishroverpei posted: “So far I have failed to find conclusive proof that > the wearing of Wings Dolphins etc is not permitted on Legion Uniform. I > received a few comments and questions on the subject, but still find myself > without an accurate answer. I looked up the manual onlin” >

  5. Tony Miles. says:

    Not actually in answer to your main point, and am not a member of the RCL. But a couple of weeks ago I was sitting with a membership secretary when he had a message from his bosses, (I guess in Toronto). I got the impression that he was to ‘maximise’ the membership of his Legion.

  6. irishroverpei says:

    They are all struggling. The last numbers I heard were a total of 240.000 of which 35,000 were veterans

Leave a Reply

