My Blog Signature????God Bless


webphoto_11432_resizeI wonder if some of my blog followers/readers are curious why I sign off  all my blogs with the following.

“God Bless and keep reading”

Some might think I’m a wee bit religious maybe a bit of a religious zealot. They might think I’m Mormon or Jehovah Witness.  Because I’m from Ireland they might think I’m a devout Catholic, or fanatic Orange lodge member! I hope no one thinks I’m a Baptist or Ultra Evangelistic. Well folks I’m none of those things, merely a member of the United Church of Canada. I have been a member for some 50 years and attend Sunday service on a fairly regular basis. I do not attempt to push my faith on others, do not look down my nose on those who do not agree with my beliefs. I mind my own business and worship in my own way. So why do I sign off with the words GOD BLESS.????? Well, some time ago I heard that it was politically incorrect and no longer allowed in Government Offices to say the words GOD BLESS YOU, when some one sneezes! It was considered these harmless two words could offend! I have used this term my whole life and have absolutely no intention to stop using it now because it might offend someone! Egad!!!!, what is this world coming too, such a ridiculous idea.  This is/was a christian country and we hold our beliefs and traditions as sacred. If it really offends some other religions then my advice is not to listen and ignore. Celebrate your faith as you wish and allows us to do the same. Christmas is about twelve weeks away, and the words Merry Christmas will soon be heard everywhere, Nativity scenes and concerts will flourish in our schools, village halls and churches. I will joyfully sing traditional Christmas carols and deck the halls with ivy. Greet friends and neighbours wishing then  seasons greetings and a very Merry Christmas. Not as has been suggested. say “Happy Holidays”

So folks now you know why I sign off as I do.

GOD BLESS and keep reading

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in family, politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

