Shipmates Reunited, New FB group


image005[1]White Ensign on HMS BelfastWhen I saw the name of this group I naturally took interest, its fun reuniting with old ship mates from so many years ago. My problem was not reading the rules applied by the apparent owner of the group. I guess we should all pay more attention before entering a social media group. However, I think I can forgive myself for not reading the rules first, after all what rules could apply to reuniting with a few old shipmates. The following day another member was kicked out for saying something derogatory about the Royal Canadian Legion! Wow, I was surprised, I have said numerous things about the legion that would certainly be considered derogatory! It was time to read the group rules,  they are copied below

Ok guys if i share Royal Canadian Legion posts especially ref the Poppy fund i will not Tolerate abuse about Legion or Comrades. Your comment will be deleted and you will be kicked off my Fb. So if you wish please unfriend, Thank you

Wow! so much for shipmates reuniting and so much for tolerance or is that intolerance. I find it very offensive to be told I must not express an opinion opposed to the group owners views or be kicked off!!!! What bothers me is the site is supposed to be about sailors and for sailors. I recall my time in the Royal Navy and remember my shipmates were a very tolerant lot. Indeed, I cannot imagine living within the confines of a submarine with 50 or 60 other crew members and being intolerant. Well maybe at tot time we might have pushed our opinions a wee bit, but you can’t live with the same guys for two years and not be tolerant of there opinions and beliefs. You might notice I have not given the name of the owner of this IMG_0001group, that’s because I’m very tolerant!!! Nevertheless, he probably will not buy a copy of my book???????

God Bless and keep reading

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in HM Submarines, HMS Cockade, hms ganges, military, veterans and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shipmates Reunited, New FB group

  1. baconburner says:

    His Loss if you don’t sell him a Book. He certainly is not a shipmate I am sure.

  2. irishroverpei says:

    Hi Robby sorry I couldnt help adding that little sarcasm at the end of my post

Leave a Reply

