The Voice of a Veteran


Remembrance day is over for another year, I attended the 11 o’clock ceremony in legionSummerside this year. It was a very impressive event and well attended by the local citizens. In the evening I was guest speaker at a local Royal Canadian Legion Branch. It too went well, my talk was well received, and many veterans shook my hand. I met so many decent legion members throughout the day, I recognized how sincere their dedication was to other veterans. I have to confess I was wavering on my decision not to renew my membership. I do enjoy the legion and the local events, and I have many good friends and comrades within the organization. I honoured the request we stop bashing the legion on Face Book and social media during the Remembrance day period. However, I returned home last evening and watched the video I had just received via the internet, it is attached with this blog. The second part of comrade Wolf’s talk brought all my good feelings toward the legion crashing down. Please view the video and then make your own judgement of our legions today. It seems the time to continue fighting for change has arrived in short order.

I sent my condolences and good wishes to this very dissatisfied and unhappy senior veteran. Once more during a time of Remembrance the legion appear to have forgotten another veteran. Lord of Host,be with us yet. LEST WE FORGET, LEST WE FORGET.

God Bless and keep reading

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in family, HM Submarines, HMS Cockade, hms ganges, military, veterans and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

