On This day in 2011


IMG_1454Hi folks I think I’m back online with my new lap top and back to blogging. However, I must ask you to be patient, I’m just feeling  my way forward at the moment. I haven’t managed to find all my photos and have Linda helping me. But as they say the show must go on.  On this day (Friday 28th Jan 2011) I departed the Queen Elizabeth Hospital as 6am via ambulance to Halifax. I recall telling Linda not to bother driving over, the weather was bad and besides, I’d be home tomorrow after they put a stent in. The dye test took place Friday afternoon, as it ended I woke up and asked the doc if he put in my stent. That was when the reality of my situation hit me, he said, I’m afraid you need a lot more than a stent. Quadruple bypass surgery was to follow two weeks later. Six days after the operation I was released from hospital and Linda drove me home in stormy weather wearing my pajamas. I couldn’t dress with over seventy staples in my chest and leg. That journey was probably the hardest of my life, but made getting home all the better. While I don’t think we ever recover fully from such an operation, I’m well and enjoying a life I might never have seen but for the skill of the surgeons and nurses that preformed my surgery. Having family and friends around you at a time like that was my greatest strength. A day never goes by that I do not thank God for my health and good fortune. No matter how sorry we might feel for ourselves, there is always someone out there worse off than you or me.

God Bless and keep reading.

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

