A Bloody Week!!!


You might wonder at the meaning of the title of todays blog? Well, its all about blood, my blood. I did learn one important fact , don’t joke about your blood in a hospital situation. Yesterday I attended the Queen Elizabeth Hospital to see my heart doctor. Entering the elevator I was followed in by a young nurse pushing a trolley with the equipment for doing blood tests. Jokingly I said, hope you don’t want me to roll up my sleeve in the elevator? She just smiled that knowing medical kind of smile we so often see in hospitals but said nothing.  During my doctor visit I was sent for blood tests, and you have probably guessed, the nurse waiting to take my blood was the same one I’d met on the elevator! I expect by this point you are wondering why I’m making such an issue of a wee blood test.  Well, let me explain , I was seeing my doctor because I’m anemic and my body is approximately short four pints of blood. Not sure of the cause yet and still have myriad of tests to do. However, every test seems to include taking blood, and I’m not talking a couple of small test tubes. On average each test has required six or seven tubes of blood, Both my arms look like bruised pin cushions. By now you are probably saying ,what a wimp, blood tests are almost painless!. I’d agree, expect in the last eight days I have had seven blood tests,  When the nurse says which arm, I’m at a loss and wondering if she could use a leg! My last test required nine tubes of blood and I have another scheduled for this coming week.  I’m beginning to wonder if they will find the cause of my blood loss, before I run out of blood. What a bloody week!!!!

God Bless and keep reading.

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Just Fooling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bloody Week!!!

  1. RUSS says:

    Hang in there, the bruising will soon be gone. As for your lack of blood top it up with a few pints. All kidding aside QE is an excellent hospital I’m certain they will soon have you back on your feet and sending us “Good Legion ” blogs. God speed. Russ

  2. irishroverpei says:

    Thanks Russ I appreciate your kind thought.

Leave a Reply

