My Legion Letter of Resignation.


Below is a copy of the letter I sent to my local branch roughly four weeks ago. I thought or perhaps expected that someone would try to reach me to say they have changed the rules regarding veterans and wives paying for special dinners. Alas, nothing to date, not one member has attempted to reach me. Not one member has tried to change my mind and return me to the fold. While I’m a little disappointed, I have no regrets over my decision and indeed have no intentions of changing my mind. However, it would have been nice if at least one soul had tried to win me back. This clearly illustrates the lack of interest the present legion organization have in building and or retaining membership of veterans.

Royal Canadian Legion Branch 17
97 Sunset Dr,  Wellington Box 27
Wellington Station PE. C0B 2E0
1st March 2017.
Comrades I’m in receipt of your membership reminder dated 28th February 2017.
Unfortunately this was not due to a lapse of memory but rather a decision I came to after the regular meeting of January 2016. Members may recall I raised the issue of the branch having a double standard for veterans.  I became aware that WW2 and Korean veterans and their wives ate free at the Remembrance Day Banquet, while all other veterans paid for their wives. This was never about the money, but rather the discrimination of some veterans within the branch. This surely violates the very principles of the Legion,  an organization founded by veterans for veterans. For these reasons I find that I can no longer remain a member of a branch that considers me a lesser veteran.
It is with some regret that have reached my decision, I have enjoyed my brief time at the branch. I have met some very good people and they will be missed. Nevertheless, I cannot remain a member under these circumstances. I wish all branch members much success in the future.
Yours Respectfully  F.Ben Rodgers

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in HM Submarines, HMS Cockade, hms ganges, military, veterans and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Legion Letter of Resignation.

  1. baconburner says:

    B R A V O Z U L U for standing by your decision. I agree wholeheartedly that the Welfare member at least should have contacted you. What a disgrace adding to the long list of errors of the so called modern Legion.

  2. irishroverpei says:

    I think they might have been glad I left, maybe I stirred up too much mud

  3. Ira Peters says:

    Too Bad that too many civilians are bending or making the rules to serve themselves. We as Veterans gave them too much freedom to take over and now unless a total restructuring and name change, I doubt the civilians will ever realize they are in a Veterans establishment 😦

  4. irishroverpei says:

    I totally agree Ira

  5. RUSS says:

    I also have let my membership expire. We no longer have a charter here in Clare because, like you once mentioned it’s all about the money . We had approximately 100 Legion members when command took our charter so, we formed the Clare Veterans Association in January and now have 60+ members and counting daily.

  6. irishroverpei says:

    I must admit I was torn, have been a member for 30 years, but really had no choice, no one listens anymore.

Leave a Reply

