When We Were Young!!!


 

This old black and white photo was taken in 1959 outside my home on Glencairn Street in Belfast. My father is partly out of the picture on the left.(no selfies back then) John aged about seven and Noel aged eleven behind him I have no idea who the other little kid is. In the front in uniform is my good friend Teddy Treleaven from HMS Eastbourne and my old Cockade shipmate Danny Gorman. I’m still in touch with Danny but have no idea what ever became of Teddy. The last time we talked he was planning to marry a Welsh girl. Apparently her father was very much against the marriage, not sure why. I have often wondered if the wedding took place. I would love to make contact with my old Eastbourne shipmate, Where are you Teddy???? I seem to remember briefly meeting him in 1962 he was serving aboard a “A” class submarine, can’t remember which one, maybe Alliance? Sad how we drift apart over the years and now in the autumn of life I’m saddened I hear of many shipmates who have already crossed the bar. I sometimes wonder how many of the old Cockade crews are still alive. In the eighties when they had a reunion it was big with lots of old shipmates in attendance. Just over a year ago (what is probably the last reunion) only seven showed up and I think one or two were the wives of shipmates.    Rest in Peace dear friends.
God Bless and keep reading.

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When We Were Young!!!

  1. I agree wholeheartedly amigo. Last year we had our final Boy Soldier reunion in Borden. Compared to the first reunion in 78. Where had approximately 450 fellas show up we were lucky to have 50 this last reunion in 2016. There are guys I have not seen nor heard of since graduation, Many crossed the bar as you say far too young. Not a day goes by that I do not think of someone and wonder where they what they did with their lives. re they still above the Grass. The only good thing is we have memories of each and every one..Exagerated possibly, but mates for sure. Keep smiling keep those memories alive.
    Robby

  2. irishroverpei says:

    Thanks Robby.

Leave a Reply

