Legion Stuff Again.


 I think I might be forgiven if I misunderstood the legion advertisement. It states that on Wednesdays they serve chicken wings from 1pm to 10pm. It also states in the add there is eat in only (.It doesn’t mention children not admitted). Now I realise I’m no longer a legion member but I’m a veteran and still expect to be greeted in a pleasant and courteous manner. We arrived at 1pm and headed down to the basement where it appeared the food was served. You will note the place was empty, just the barman behind the bar. I asked where the wings were being served? His response was, “no children allowed, this is a bar”. We had our 13 year old grandson with us. Now I’m sure he was correct regarding the liquor laws for this province. However, the way he confronted me was less than friendly, his attitude made me feel as though I should know better. He was decidedly unfriendly and blunt, while he could have so easily said ,I’m sorry folks, but children are not allowed.  We left and will probably never set foot in that branch again. The point I’m making is important and should be important to the branch. It is the height of the tourist season and we could have
chosen from one of many competing diners and cafes.  I decided on the legion from a sense of loyalty as a veteran, why not give this local branch some support. Unfortunately my concerns about the Royal Canadian Legion in general are now more firmly confirmed. All the talk at Dominion Command that legions should be friendly and inviting places,that visitors should be greeted an welcomed in a pleasant manner.
Regarding the law, I have phoned the Provincial Liquor Commission to ask about the laws governing clubs that advertise and serve food. One can enter almost any restaurant with a liquor license on PEI and children are welcome. I understand the dining areas should be separate from the bar but that should not pose a problem in most legions. If they are going to be in the food business then they need to meet the standards required. I’m still waiting to hear an answer from the Liquor Commission
God Bless and keep reading.
About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Legion Stuff Again.

  1. Ira Peters says:

    What can a person say, if the management does not change with the times then the patronage finds other places to go.

Leave a Reply

