Still Waiting for the Knock?????


There is some irony in yesterdays blog “Still waiting for the Knock”. At my branch in Wellington PEI  in January 2016 at the first regular meeting of the year, no one but me appeared to  have any problem with the double standard for veterans., I decided I’d had enough and left. In 2017 I did not renew my legion membership and approximately June 2017 I received a membership renewal reminder, the only correspondence I ever received . No one ever phoned or called to ask why I had left? A few weeks ago I met the President in the village. He said, we haven’t seen you in a while? I said that’s because I’m no longer a member. I explained I couldn’t be a member of a legion that had double standards for veterans. Oh! its much better now lots of changes, he said. That was the end of the conversation and he drove off. While I do not fault the Provincial Command from trying to recruit new members by knocking on doors, the efforts set by individual branches leaves much to be desired.  So this is one veteran who does not expect a Legion member to be knocking on my door any time soon.

God Bless and keep reading

About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in HM Submarines, HMS Cockade, hms ganges, military, veterans. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

