In the Good Old Days????


How many times have we heard the term, “in the good old days”???? In fact in my memorybook cover_0001 they were seldom good, as children we were never prepared for the adult world. As a boy in puberty I recall asking about girls and was told I didn’t need to know that until I married. That serious lack of knowledge led me into a miserable six year marriage. Whilst stationed in Scotland with the navy I had sex with a local girl. Two weeks later she told me she was pregnant. In those good old days we did the honourable thing. I married her on Saturday 29th November at 2pm, please note this date. Two days later the 31st November she told me she had a miscarriage. Of course I later came to realise I had been taken in by one of the oldest tricks in the book. Whilst I was in the navy married life was tolerable, mainly because I was away much of the time. We had a daughter in January 1965 and this would remain the only blessing of this union. After leaving the navy married life went from bad to worse, In 1969 I learned she had a boy friend and was pregnant by him. I began divorce proceedings, and six years to the day on the 29th November 1969 at 2pm at the Nova Scotia court house my divorce was granted. I recall my lawyer telling me not to say anything, the old judge was a Catholic and would give me a lecture on the sanctity of marriage, but would have no choice but to grant the divorce. It was difficult to listen to him,, he had no idea about my situation nevertheless I remained quiet. Moments later I walked down the steps of the court house a free man. I imagined at the time, it must be a similar feeling to a man being released from Alcatraz. I was walking on air and happier than I had been in a long time. A few years later I won custody on me daughter.  Seems a long time ago now and maybe I can look back and sayIMG_0001 they were the good old days, or maybe not.
This is just a brief account of that fateful marriage, the full story can be read in my book “The Royal Navy & Me”
God Bless and keep reading
A
About irishroverpei

Author of "Lily & Me", "The Royal Navy & Me" and Chapter XXl Armageddon. Writer, blogger and RN Submariner, antique automobile enthusiast.
This entry was posted in family, HM Submarines, The Royal Navy & Me, veterans and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

